RSS Feed

But, does she home-style???

There are only a few things in this world that equate with pure, simple bliss. Great sex, for one, but that kinda goes without saying. (sorry Mom and Dad.)  Hearing  a child’s big belly laugh for the first time, or being pinned under 10 lbs of flannel quilting while laying on your Grandma’s couch as she cooks home-made soup for you. And you’re not even sick.

Another bliss inducing thing?

A big ass bowl of creamy Macaroni and Cheese.  That’s right. Uh huh.

What is it about pasta and cheese that catapults us into a land of warm fuzziness, with a heavy-lidded glaze over our eyes and a smile in our bellies? Who knows, and who cares. We just like the stuff, right?

So much so, in fact, that human beings eat 7 MILLION boxes of the blue box variety each WEEK. The K-brand chemical crap can’t be compared to a home-styled mac n cheese but, what do you do when you don’t have M&C skills?

Head to the frozen food aisle.

#3 – Amy’s Macaroni & Cheese

Found in the health food section, the box reads that  it’s made with Aged Cheddar Cheese and contains 78% Organic Ingredients. (The food, not the box, smartypants.)

Here’s the box:

box

The Goods:

410 Calories, 16g fat, 16g protein, 47g carbohydrate and 640g of sodium, which is 27% of your daily allowance. I also wanted to post a photo of the ingredient list, as it’s not often that you actually can pronounce almost everything on that list, and that it’s ORGANIC! Check it out:

ingredient

Food Tray Op:

foodtray

Heating Instructions:

They list a few different options, Oven, Toaster Oven, and Microwave. I choose the mike because typically all the other frozen food entrée’s require a microwave and I like consistency. Both in food and routine.

1.Remove overwrap.  2. Cook on high for 4 minutes.  3. Stir and cook on high for 2 to 3 minutes.

Plated Meal:

plated

2~Bite Review:

As it cooked in the microwave I have to say it was smelling mighty fine. When I stirred it on step 3 and put it back in the microwave it had that REALLY saucy consistency that makes mac n cheese so luscious. It looked exactly like it does on the box.

I was gleeful.

Upon taking it out and plating, it was NOT like it was 2.5 minutes earlier.

 I’m not sure if the pasta sucked up HALF of that sauce but it seemed like someone was trying to rip the last shred of sunshiny-happiness from my pathetic and miserable life by making it sticky and unsaucy. Ok, perhaps a LITTLE dramatic, but suffice it to say, I was dissapointed. And, maybe not HALF the sauce was missing, because it was still kinda saucy, but NOT LIKE ON THE BOX, OK!!

On tasting, the pasta was nicely done. Not mushy, but not underdone either. It didn’t have that “toothsome” or “al dente” bite that pasta is “supposed” to have, but that’s ok because it’s a FROZEN ENTREE people, for crying out loud, give it some slack. The second bite was bit more cheesy, but the sauce had this, thick, starchy taste to it. Oh, and the cheese could use a bit of a sharper flavor, because considering it contains almost 30% of your daily sodium intake, I think it was riding dirty on the bland train.

All in all though, for a frozen mac&cheese entree that you find in the health food aisle, it was pretty damn edible.

I’m wondering if you took it out at the REALLY saucy stage and didn’t cook it further would it have been better? Hey, I’d forgo a bit of pasta tenderness for cheesy, saucy sauciness. Priorities, people.

Lastly, if you’re like, tall and husky, and have an appetite on you, this little speck of an entree won’t cut it. (Plus you can email me with your phone number cuz I’d like to meet you, wink wink ).  Seriously though, I measured it to be not even a full cup.

measure

However, if you’re one of those salad eating bitches, this will be more than enough, but then again, if you’re eating salads all the time, you wouldn’t DARE eat fattening, yummy, I-wanna-wear-a-onesie inducing, pasta and cheese.

So, does Amy home-style her Mac n Cheese?

Considering general taste and nice, organic ingredient list, and if you don’t care about next day salt-bloat,

I’d say oh yeah, she home-styles it alright.

I give Amy’s Macaroni and Cheese

8/10

blueforkinfoodiestamp

3 responses »

  1. Clearly you must have missed the fine print somewhere on the box that read “Side dish only. Not to be used as main course or else your ass will starve”.

    I AINT EATIN IT!

    :-l

    Reply
  2. I look at this stuff at Trader Joe’s constantly and just can’t brave myself to choke the stuff down my face. Well thanks to you I’ll give it a try. If it sucks expect an angry text message. Unless I can spruce it up with some bacon.

    Reply
    • Mr Davis – yes, long time, no reply, I hear you already. I’m wondering, did you ever try the mac and cheese? If you liked it, I will gladly let you in my club. If you loved it because you spruced it up with Bacon, sadly, your opinion won’t count. Simply because everything good in this world is made with Bacon and adding it to the mac and cheese would be cheating. Cheater McCheaterson.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

